Dating historic lumber
For commercial use or commercial republication, contact .
Images may be reproduced or transmitted, but not for commercial use.
Here in the southeast corner of Connecticut not far from Ledyard, the diary of Joshua Hempstead of New London, Connecticut mentions “saw pitts” in 1741, but also mentions sawmills as early as 1718 (and there is documentary evidence that the first sawmill in the New London area was built in the 1650s)on an Up-down (Sash-type) sawmill have straight saw marks at a right angle to the length of the board.
A UNIQUE PRODUCT AND SUSTAINABLE PROCESS Once recovered from the lake by local divers, Flathead Lake Historic Timber is milled by Hunts Timbers in St. The Hunt family knows that each log, some dating back to 1535, has a story, giving each recovered board an irreplaceable personality.
Our salvage project is an environmentally sensitive move that focuses on a carbon-neutral, renewable resource.
Additionally, the recovery of these timeless timbers has improved Flathead Lake’s ecological habitat while maintaining its pristine water quality.
Sash-sawn boards are easily distinguished from the arcing saw marks on wood sawn by a circular sawmill.
However, the spacing between marks from a bandsaw is more uneven than an up-down saw since the thin bandsaw blade can flex and then jump ahead more readily than a thick, rigid up-down blade.
We have developed a full color coffee-table book demonstrating the beauty of these timbers and the history of the Somers Sawmill (Est. We have also crafted a fire-branded, certified and numbered decorative box exemplifying the strength and beauty of this never-to-be-seen-again wood.
The draining of Shaver Lake for repairs this winter presented a once-in-a-lifetime chance to revisit history.
C.)Atlas of the State of Illinois to which are added various general maps, history, statistics and illustrations. By downloading any images from this site, you agree to the terms of that license.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
In 1853 they built two buildings - a boarding house near the current water tower and a lumber mill, both on the south end of Hancock St. Lumber baron, Charles Mears, built the channel to Lake Michigan and placed his sawmill on its north bank in 1855. Mears called this site Middlesex and included all of the land east to Hancock street.